W7, #6: CURIOUSLY

Set-Up: Author Dorothy Parker once quipped:

The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.

Challenge: React to this quotation.

Think of your life, both in the classroom and in the real world.

  • Where do you become profoundly curious?
  • Where do you find that you can’t shut your brain ‘off’ when your imagination takes over?
  • Is this something that teenagers still do, or is curiosity just child’s play?

Length: 7+ sentences

6 responses to “W7, #6: CURIOUSLY

  1. I usually become very curious when I’m just sitting at home doing nothing. That’s when my imagination starts to take off and that’s really when I can’t shut it off. I can be watching T.V. and I makes me think about something and I completely forget about the show.

    I think it is something that teenagers most definitely do. Maybe even more than younger kids. We understand things better and we can relate things better to what’s going on on the show, or the stuff we’re thinking about is just more advanced and thought provoking than what little kids think about. I I let curiousity take over all the time.

  2. The difference between something boring is all about a person’s point of view. If you attack a ‘boring’ ordeal with questions in your mind, you have eliminated the boredom from it. When something seems boring, you have to try out curiosity in oder to find some kind of interest in it. The more you wonder about something, no matter how boring, you engage your brain a lot more and your imagination kicks in.

    This quote could also have a double meaning, as student #1 mentioned, when someone has nothing to do, letting curiosity spark a imaginative daydream could keep anyone entertained. There is no limit to a daydream, so long as you are curious enough to keep it alive. Everyone daydreams in a boring situation, i probably daydream the most when I am swimming laps in practice. I can be very boring, so my imagination runs completely wild. I sing songs, imagine funny situations, anything.

  3. Curiosity is definitely not child’s play; we are never too old to be curious. I tend to get curious about how things work or how something was made and how that was figured out. I always find myself curious about nature and technology, nature is so beautiful and it seems to just do so with such ease. Technology is also such a wonder to me because it’s so advanced, and I always find myself curious about how somebody figured out how to create something so advanced. I can never stop being curious about my future though; I want to know so badly what my life is going to turn out to be. There are so many wonders in our world to be curious about, there is no way this is just child’s play, everybody grows curious about something.

  4. Actually the place that the most curiosity occurs for me is in your classroom. Always wondering about how to answer the questions in an intelligent way. Also why you answer some questions with questions and others with answers, this is all a mystery still and my curiosity wants to solve it.

    I feel that my imagination tends to take over when I am writing a story based on a picture. The stories that come around are more based from my imagination then the rest of my brain.

    Don’t be silly thinking that your curiosity is over when you turn 12 or 13. YOU ALWAYS HAVE IT. It can be called a gift or a curse, but either way no matter how old you are you always have it. If you didn’t you would never ponder, wonder, or possibly think about anything. Without curiosity the world would be uninhabited. No creature would wonder what to do to live, so they would all just die and poof the world is just empty.

  5. I am most curisous when we talk about the world and how it began. Scientist say that the universe began with a big bang but how do they know this. But all the religons say other wise. So how do we know which one is true.

    I find that in life anything and everything is possible. To make that true all we have to do is find a way to make it possible. Everyone said we couldn’t fly but we did and we are.

    I believe that nobody will ever stop imaginating. Everybody will imaginate but they just might not show it or hide it for fear of being made fun of.

  6. I would strongly agree with student #1’s comment, because when Im home alone and bored that is where my imagination kicks in as well. I usually am watching a really boring program about fish or something on the discovery channel, my imagination begins to wander aimlessley to other areas of thought. I think of things like waffles all the way to the third alternt ending of the movie Clue. Teenager’s start to lose these traits slowly and adulthood begins to dominate. My dad always says that Im to silly or something to that effect, and I cant help but wonder, is that a bad thing?

Leave a comment