W8, #1: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

Set-Up: Vocab, photos, you get it. At least — by now — I hope you do. [smile]

Challenge: Use any 7 words that you select from all vocab words given so far [with the part of speech, please] to creatively describe 1 of the following photos:

Length: 7+ sentences

Words: Refer to the full SAT vocab words list (& additional words you were given during the week of 9/9)

Photo 1: (link: http://tinyurl.com/3j3ayya)

Photo 2: (link: http://tinyurl.com/4zl2ow)

Photo 3: (link: http://tinyurl.com/6ad88y)

5 responses to “W8, #1: VISUAL VOCAB STORY

  1. She was the best runner, and the best athlete, I’ve met. She is very famous, and has won several awards. She represented the USA during the Beijing Olypics, and the London Olympics. Her name was Ashley, and I revere(v.) her as the best thing in my life, and my best friend. I first saw her on a bridge in a park, running. It was 6 in the morining and I always like to take my dog our for a walk. My dog saw her and immediately ran to her. In the process somehow the leash tied around her legs, and she fell. I apoligized tried to make sure she was ok. Then the next thing you know we were garrulous(adj.). We talked, and were quite gregarious (adj.). I learned a lot about her. She always wanted to become a runner, but her parents impeded(v.) her progress because they wanted her to focus on her education. Anyway I got her number, and we became good friends. You can say we had a relationship. One day she came over to my house crying. She was running away from her parents because they were pulling her out of all her running practices, and telling her that she will never run again. They just don’t want her to run, and believe its a waste of time. She asked if she could stay and I said it will be ok. She stayed for 3 days until her parents came. Her parents were yelling at her taking some of my stuff and throwing it. I tried to ameliorate(v.) the fight, but instead got a black eye from her dad, and a big humongous dictionary thrown at my face by her mom. The situation was cleared up soon after taking a couple of hits for her, and it ended with the parents giving up and they abandoned her. Well I got a roommate. She was happier staying with me. She got to practice her running skills, and I bolstered(v.) her confidence and will to keep trying. She was so good that she won so many races, and I was always there at the finish line. She was so good that she actually got invited to participate in the Beijing Olympics. She was great, and won 1 gold, 1 silver, and 1 bronze. Not bad. She was a paragon(adj.) to what running is all about and she was beautiful. We of coarse got married, and had a great life together.

    Now those who read this story will wonder whats the point of this story. Well, its not because Mr.Long has us doing blogs for homework, and theres a Vocab writing blog thats perfect to write this story. No the reason is because I believe if you want something, and you want it bad, you chase it, and pursue it with all you heart. Don’t let anybody tell who you can’t be. Also for those of you who like to bring people’s spirts down, really try bolstering(v. using it again) it for a change.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Cool way to end your response (esp. when you able to add one more word — bolster — in the final line!): “Now those who read this story will wonder whats the point of this story. Well, its not because Mr.Long has us doing blogs for homework, and theres a Vocab writing blog thats perfect to write this story. No the reason is because I believe if you want something, and you want it bad, you chase it, and pursue it with all you heart.”

  2. The elderly man in the wheelchair has come to the museum to relish in the pleasures of masterpieces. He is impeded by his wheelchair which works as an adversary in his ability to move around the plethora of paintings are endorsed by famous artist. The meticulous details of the art work can create a wary feeling if it is a disturbing picture. Hypothetically, the elderly man visits the museum to curtail his thoughts of boorish chores and the demands of life. As he travels through the museum, he remembers his youth. This takes takes him away from the struggles of life. In his younger ages he used to paint as a way to express his feelings. He often visits here to bring back good memories.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Next time, try to highlight the words somehow — try putting an ** on both sides of the word. Overall, great use of the words…and I like the story, esp. as you get into the older man’s mind/memories.

  3. This guys obviously relishes (v) having a good time in the water. He seems to have a penchant (n) for doing handstands in the water. It looks like he has a levity (n) because he is so playful. This type of person is not very prevalent (adj) these days as people seem to be more stressed and too busy to just have fun. Of course this is a hypothetical (n) because I have no way to prove it, but that is how it seems. I wonder if it took much to goad (v) him into doing the handstand. It is not that it is audacious (adj) to do a handstand in the water, but more that you might look stupid doing it.

    ***

    Mr. Long: Everything used very naturally here. Well done. Also glad someone finally took this photo! It was feeling lonely between my 5 classes.

  4. I am just an old man in a museum, using a wheelchair. I don’t care about anyone but myself, if a person fell down behind me I wouldn’t care at all. I would show total apathy (n) for them. I don’t care about other people because they don’t care about me. You would think others would think of me as sage (adj) from all the years I’ve lived. Instead of thinking I’m wise; however, they think I’m indolent (adj)! People who use wheelchairs aren’t lazy! Since people see me as lazy they believe it okay to act boorish (adj) to me. In response to this rude behavior I make audacious (adj) remarks back to them. All my friends think that I’m very bold for speaking that way to other people, especially since I’m in a wheelchair. But I believe that they are starting the fight and to abate (v) would be the coward’s way out. Instead of subsiding, I retaliate in full force. This is my point of view because I was in the US Army Cavalry in World War I. This previous experience is what caused the sudden break in my apathetic ways in the museum. I spotted a painting of horses, but not just any horses, but war horses in fervor (n). You could tell it was a painting of war because that is the only place you’d ever see peaceful horses, in such an intense showing of excitement and anger is in the confusion of battle.

    ***

    Mr. Long: I really respect the last line in particular. Strong way to finish!

  5. Sam is a general before. Everybody venerate (verb) him, and he always delineate (verb) how he wins the war. He is really audacious (adj) and no body is his adversary (noun). After sixty years, he becomes an old man. His family is vexed (noun) about him, because he always talks about his exploit. His grandson flout (verb) at him with his wheel chair. Today, he goes to the museum without telling his family. He is a paragon (noun) before, but an old man now. He really needs people to solace his heart. He needs a people know what he think and how he feel.

    ***

    Mr. Long: You wrote a great mini-story here, but come talk to me about how to use the words a bit more naturally.

Leave a Reply

